DARWIN @ SKY GARDEN

A couple of days ago I visited Darwin Brasserie, located on the 35th floor of the “walkie talkie” building in the City for lunch.

As you can tell from my previous blog posts I have a penchant for restaurants with a view and this one has been on my list for a while.

Unfortunately, upon arrival we were not greeted with the warmest welcome! We were herded in like cattle through the security checks (completely agree that these are needed but the organisation is atrocious!) and one of the bouncers barged into me with no apology – not the most relaxing start to my afternoon!

Once we arrived at Darwin the atmosphere and service changed for the better – thankfully! The hostess was very pleasant and we were seated at an excellent table with clear riverside views across the London Bridge area.

Our waitress was helpful and attentive, suggesting various dishes and highlighting the the day’s specials. I must admit I had a cheeky look at the menu before visiting so I was already pretty set on what I wanted to order.

Now for the good bit, culinary visuals!

Starter (shared) – Salt Beef salad; really tasty and a great sized starter!

Main – Lamb; my boyfriend had this dish (I obviously had a taste!) – he said it was really well cooked and, again, a decent sized portion.

Main – My main course – Sweet Potato Gnocchi; I have to say I was slightly disappointed when this arrived as it was SO much smaller than my boyfriend’s meal – luckily the pasta was very filling and turned out to be just the right amount.

Dessert (shared) – Pistachio Cake; this was delicious! Slightly out of the ordinary with a quirky presentation it was a real treat – the toasted marshmallow bits were absolutely gorgeous!

 

Lunch complete = TO THE BAR…!

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and drinks here and appreciated the fact that for an upmarket venue it was not pretentious or snobby. I would highly recommend the cocktail bar for after work drinks! As for the bill, with all the above food, a bottle of prosecco and service charge this came to a total of £115; a pricey lunch for 2 but there are options to suit all budgets – if you are looking to enjoy the view and sample some more affordable food head towards the bar area where you will find a cafe serving sandwiches, cakes and other delights!

Darwin Brasserie – speedy summary:

Grub for your gravy ***

Calibre of cuisine ****

Vibrant vibes ***

Top treatment ** (perhaps slightly harsh but taking into account the full experience from start to finish – i.e. the horrendous entrance) 

Diva direction – Politely request a window seat when booking and definitely sample the cocktail menu!   

Leave a Reply

